Newbattlebees


Log in

Upcoming events

    • Wednesday, April 08, 2020
    • 10:00 - 12:00
    • Newbattle Apiary
    Register

    Apiary Cleaning Visit 

    Newbattle Apiary

    Myriam and David

    Cleaning and Roof Construction


    • Wednesday, April 08, 2020
    • 12:00 - 14:00
    • Newbattle Apiary
    Register

    Apiary Inspection Visit 

    Newbattle Apiary

    Myriam and David

    Hives 5, 13, 14 and 22


    • Wednesday, April 08, 2020
    • 16:00 - 17:30
    • Newbattle Apiary
    Register

    Apiary Inspection Visit 

    Newbattle Apiary

    Lorraine and Paul

    Hives 7, 9, 16 and 18


    • Saturday, April 11, 2020
    • 15:00 - 17:00
    • Newbattle Apiary
    Register

    Apiary Inspection Visit 

    Newbattle Apiary

    Kevin and Maurice

    Hives 3, 11, 12 and 21


    • Sunday, April 12, 2020
    • 11:00 - 13:00
    • Newbattle Apiary
    Register

    Apiary Inspection Visit 

    Newbattle Apiary

    Josefine and Ewan

    Hives 2, 4, 15 and 19


    • Saturday, May 30, 2020
    • 09:30 - 13:30
    • Newbattle Bee Academy & Apiary
    • 20



    Interested in Bees and Beekeeping?

    Do you want to taste local honey?

    Do you want to see the inside of a Bee Hive?

    Then join us for

    A Taste of Beekeeping  - Saturday 30 May 2020

    09:30 - 13:30

    Newbattle Bee Academy & Apiary

    Course Fee £25.00

    Refreshments, full supervision and protective clothing (excluding footwear) provided.

    • Thursday, June 18, 2020
    • Sunday, June 21, 2020



    Buy Tickets Here

    Don't Forget to Visit the Honey Tent

    • Sunday, July 05, 2020
    • 12:00 - 12:45
    • Newbattle Bee Academy
    • 6
    Register

    Beginner Beekeepers' Course 2020 

    Starting Sunday 5 July 

    N.B The course is available to members only.


    Find Out More Here

     If you are not a member Join the Association Here

    Fee Payment Options

    • Monday, July 06, 2020
    • Friday, July 10, 2020
    • Ivancna Glorica, Slovenia

    Find out more from  Marko Borko 

    • Saturday, July 25, 2020
    • Sunday, July 26, 2020
    • 2 sessions
    • Newbattle Bee Academy


    Healthy 'BEES' Project

    Early Bird Notification 

    Advanced Colony Manipulations (Apiary and classroom)


    13 & 14 June 2020 (Cancelled)

    25 & 26 July 2020 (New Dates) 

    Course Fee £65.27

    Click and Register

    A follow on from the Intermediate Handling course covering, Nucleus making, Feeding Bees, feed types, Shook swarm, Uniting colonies, Bailey comb change, Artificial swarm, Queen introduction, Progressive comb change, Ethanoic acid fumigation.

    This course will assist those taking the SBA Intermediate Practical examination the Apiarian or for anyone simply wishing to improve their skills.

    It is hands-on participants will work with live bees. 

    SBA syllabus: Intermediate and Apiarian Practical Assessments, module 1, 7 

    • Friday, September 11, 2020
    • Saturday, September 12, 2020
    • Kinross Community Centre


    SBA Annual Conference 


    Organised by Scottish Beekeepers Association 

    &

    Fife/Dunfermline & West Fife Beekeepers

Past events

Monday, April 06, 2020 Newbattle Apiary Inspection Visit
Sunday, April 05, 2020 Newbattle Apiary Inspection Visit
Saturday, April 04, 2020 Newbattle Apiary Inspection Visit
Friday, April 03, 2020 BBKA Spring Convention 2020 - Cancelled
Sunday, March 29, 2020 Midlothian OWL Launch Day - Postponed
Saturday, March 28, 2020 SBA - Notice of Annual General Meeting (AGM) - Cancelled
Saturday, March 14, 2020 Scottish Native Honey Bee Society - Annual Meeting
Tuesday, March 03, 2020 West Linton Beekeepers - March Meeting
Saturday, November 02, 2019 The Scottish Beekeepers Association - 2019 Delegates' & Members Meeting
Thursday, October 24, 2019 National Honey Show
Friday, October 18, 2019 Midlothian Science Festival - Bioblitz Mini Workshops
Monday, October 07, 2019 Star Scouts - Midlothian Science Festival
Saturday, October 05, 2019 Skep Workshop
Saturday, September 28, 2019 Healthy Bees Project - Honey Bee Behaviour
Sunday, September 22, 2019 Skep Making Workshop
Saturday, September 14, 2019 SBA Annual Convention - Hallmark Hotel, Dyce
Sunday, September 08, 2019 Wild Activity Walk
Sunday, September 08, 2019 46th Apimondia, International Apicultural Congress
Wednesday, August 14, 2019 Bee Craft Live - Webinar - 14 August - Topic - Honey Labels
Friday, August 09, 2019 Thorne - Newburgh Sale Days
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 Newtongrange After School Club visit to the Bee Academy
Saturday, July 20, 2019 Talk to Woodland Volunteers
Sunday, July 07, 2019 Beginner Beekeepers' Course 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019 National 5 Beekeeping - Scondary School Teachers Meeting
Wednesday, June 12, 2019 Bees For Development - Garden Party
Monday, June 10, 2019 Newtongrange Pensioner Community Education Group
Saturday, June 01, 2019 Newbattle Workshops - Open Weekend
Saturday, June 01, 2019 Bee Health Awareness day
Friday, May 31, 2019 Gardening Scotland 2019
Saturday, May 25, 2019 A Taste of Beekeeping - Half Day Course
Saturday, May 18, 2019 Bee Health Awareness Day
Saturday, May 04, 2019 SBA Skep Workshop
Saturday, March 30, 2019 SBA Microscopy Course
Saturday, March 23, 2019 Practical Workshop with Ben Dell at the Botanic Market Garden
Saturday, March 16, 2019 Scottish Beekeepers' Association AGM
Saturday, March 16, 2019 Healthy Bees Project - Bee Farming Course
Wednesday, March 13, 2019 Newbattle Abbey College Open Doors Day
Tuesday, March 05, 2019 West Linton Beekeepers - Talk by Gavin Ramsay on Drones
Saturday, November 24, 2018 Christmas at Newbattle Fair
Saturday, November 17, 2018 SNHBS Autumn Workshop - Identify Those Native Bees
Sunday, October 14, 2018 Midlothian Science Festival - Bee Academy Open Afternoon
Sunday, October 14, 2018 Midlothian Science Festival - Bird Stress in Your Backyard
Monday, October 08, 2018 Midlothian Science Festival - Dr Tim Regan, Roslin Institute
Sunday, July 29, 2018 Bee Experience Event - (Private Party)
Thursday, July 05, 2018 Newton Grange After School Club - Visit to the Bee Academy
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 Bee Craft Live - Swarm Control
Saturday, June 09, 2018 Handling Skills Workshop
Sunday, May 20, 2018 Newbattle Bee Academy - Launch
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 Newbattle Abbey College - Introduction to Beekeeping




Visit us on Facebook & Twitter


click on the folder to read our Privacy Policy

Contact the Association:
Call: M : +44 (0) 7470023153

or Write to us at:

newbattlebees@gmail.com

Find us at:
Newbattle Abbey College, Dalkeith, EH22 3LL

         The Association is a Scottish Charitable Organisation (SCO)

Newbattle Beekeepers Association is affiliated to the Scottish Beekeepers' Association (SBA)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software